Nine Terps Named To U.S. National Training Roster

Maryland Athletics
Print RSS

Nine former members of the University of Maryland men’s lacrosse team were among the 52 selected to the 2014 U.S. Men’s National Team training roster, US Lacrosse announced on Tuesday.

The training roster was paired down from 94 players that competed at a three-day tryout camp this past weekend at Goucher College in Baltimore.

Six members of the Terps’ 2011 ACC championship team – attackman Ryan Young, midfielder Drew Snider, defenders Jesse Bernhardt and Brett Schmidt, long stick midfielder Brian Farrell and short stick defensive midfielder Dan Burns – made the cut, along with 2009 Maryland graduates Jeff Reynolds and Jeremy Sieverts. Two-time MLL Defensive Player of the Year Lee Zink, a captain on Maryland’s 2004 ACC championship team, also made the training roster.

These former Terrapin players, along with 43 others, will train with Team USA at a series of fall and winter events, culminating with Champion Challenge, a US Lacrosse event, where they will vie for 23 spots on the final world championships roster. The annual event will once again be hosted Jan. 24-26 at ESPN Wide World of Sports Complex in Lake Buena Vista, Fla.

The reigning world champion U.S. Men's National Team will compete for a record 10th world title at the 2014 Federation of International Lacrosse (FIL) World Championships, hosted by US Lacrosse on July 10-19, 2014, in Denver, Colo.