Twice as Nice! Schwarzmann Wins Tewaaraton

May 30, 2013

WATCH: Double Vision - Schwarzmann Wins Second Tewaaraton Award

Photo Gallery - 2013 Tewaaraton Ceremony

Photo Gallery - Schwarzmann Through The Years

WASHINGTON, D.C. - Senior midfielder Katie Schwarzmann was named the 2013 Tewaaraton Award winner Thursday night at the Smithsonian Institution's National Museum of the American Indian.

The Sykesville, Md., native is the first two-time Maryland winner and only the third player to do so in award history. The Tewaaraton Award is given annually to honor the nation's top male and female collegiate lacrosse player for their extraordinary achievements on the field.

And Schwarzmann was certainly extraordinary in 2013.

The three-time IWLCA National Midfielder of the Year was crowned ACC Championship Most Valuable Player for a second consecutive season after guiding Maryland to its fifth-straight ACC title. Schwarzmann was also named ACC Offensive Player of the Year and is one of only three players to earn All-ACC honors four times.

No one in the country filled up a box score as prolifically as Schwarzmann the past two seasons. She tallied 58 goals, 27 assists, 39 ground balls, 19 caused turnovers and 39 draw controls, and was vital to Maryland's transition game in 2013 as the Terrapins advanced to their fifth consecutive NCAA Final Four.

She ended her career ranked third all-time in both goals (228) and points (304). Schwarzmann earned a degree in business from the University of Maryland earlier this month and is the reigning ACC Scholar-Athlete of the Year. She will compete with the U.S. women's national team at the World Cup in Canada this summer.

Tewaaraton Award -- All-Time Winners

2013 - Katie Schwarzmann, Maryland
2012 - Katie Schwarzmann, Maryland
2011 -- Shannon Smith, Northwestern
2010 -- Caitlyn McFadden, Maryland
2009 -- Hannah Nielsen, Northwestern
2008 -- Hannah Nielsen, Northwestern
2007 -- Kristen Kjellman, Northwestern
2006 -- Kristen Kjellman, Northwestern
2005 -- Katie Chrest, Duke
2004 -- Amy Appelt, Virginia
2003 -- Rachael Becker, Princeton
2002 -- Erin Elbe, Georgetown
2001 -- Jen Adams, Maryland