Maryland's Lacrosse Tradition

The Maryland Women's Lacrosse program has earned its position among the nation's eliteprograms. The Maryland women's lacrosse team is the only team in NCAA Division Iwomen's lacrosse history to win back-to-back National Championships. The Terps wonboth the 1995 and 1996 championships. In addition, the Terps became the first team inwomen's lacrosse history to complete two consecutive unbeatenm, untied seasons.

In winning consecutive national championships Maryland wonn 17 straight games in 1995 and19 straight games in 1996. The 36 consecutive victories marks the longest winningstreak in the history of Division I women's lacrosse. The Terps have won three nationalchampionships in the last six years, four NCAA Championships and five NationalChampionships in the history of the program. The Terps are the only program nationallyto have won four NCAA Championships.

Maryland played in the national tournament for a record 17th time in 1996. The Terps won their fifth national championship in 1996 -the most ever by any Maryland team. Maryland has reached the National TournamentFinals an unprecedented 13 times including six of the last seven seasons. The Terpshave played for the national championship in five of the last six seasons. Maryland'splayers are among the most decorated in the history of the sport. The Terps have hadat least one player named All-American every year since 1980. In each of the pastthree years, Maryland has had six All-Americans, more than any other team in the sportof women's lacrosse.

In 1996 Kelly Amonte was named the National Division I Most Valuable Player and the Division I Offensive Player of the Year. Also in 1996, LizDowning was named the Division I Defensive Player of the Year. In 1995, Amonte wasnamed the National Defensive Player of the Year and Cindy Timchal the National Coach ofthe Year. In 1990, the Terps had both the National Offensive Player of the Year - MaryAnn Oelgoetz - and the National Defensive Player of the Year - Mary Kondner. In 1991,Michelle Uhlfelder became the second Terp to earn National Offensive Player of the Yearhonors. Mandy Stevenson became the first Terp to earn National Goalkeeper of the Yearhonors while Kerstin Manning earned National Defensive Player of the Year honors in1993. In 1994, Betsy Elder became the third Maryland player to receive the NationalOffensive Player of the Year Award.

Lacrosse success follows the Maryland players into the international realm. An incredible total of seven former Terp players played onthe U.S. Touring Squad during the summer of 1996. The team finished its tour ofEngland with a perfect 6-0 record. Several former Terps participated on both the 1989and 1993 Gold Medal winning world cup teams and several are slated to compete the nextworld championships.