Terps Ready for MLS SuperDraft Thursday

Jan. 16, 2013

COLLEGE PARK, Md. - Seniors Taylor Kemp and John Stertzer look to become the latest Terrapins to join the professional ranks when the 2013 Major League Soccer SuperDraft takes place Thursday at noon in Indianapolis.

Kemp battled injury in his final campaign in College Park in 2012, but still managed to receive second-team All-ACC honors for the second straight year. The senior captain ended the year with a career-high six assists despite missing nearly half the season. Kemp, a native of Highlands Ranch, Colo., was a four-year starter for the Terps in the back line.

Stertzer was the backbone for the Terrapin midfield all season long, racking up seven goals and seven assists while mentoring a young Maryland squad in 2012. This season marked the second straight year the Oakton, Va., product tallied NSCAA Third Team All-America honors. The captain also registered All-ACC first team accolades as a senior for the second consecutive year.

The first-overall selection will be broadcast live on ESPN SportsCenter at noon. Fans will then be able to watch the entire draft live on ESPN3, ESPNFC,, MLS club websites and YouTube.

The HD broadcast will feature ESPN soccer commentators Alexi Lalas and Taylor Twellman. They will be joined by members of the editorial team and other guests.

The 2013 MLS SuperDraft will include two rounds and 38 overall selections. The first nine selections are currently held by clubs that did not qualify for the 2012 MLS Cup Playoffs, in reverse order of regular season finish. The remaining 10 positions currently belong to clubs that were eliminated in the same round of the 2012 MLS Cup Playoffs, in reverse order of regular-season finish.

Defender London Woodberry - the third member of this year's senior class - signed a Homegrown contract with FC Dallas earlier this month. Maryland has had at least one player selected in each of the last nine drafts.

Below is a breakdown of Terps and the MLS SuperDraft:

2012 - Casey Townsend, first round (fifth overall)
2011 - Zac MacMath, first round (fifth overall)
2011 - Billy Cortes, third round (38th overall)
2011 - Jason Herrick, third round (45th overall)
2010 - Drew Yates, second round (29th overall)
2010 - Kevin Tangney, third round (35th overall)
2009 - Omar Gonzalez, first round (third overall)
2009 - Rodney Wallace, first round (sixth overall)
2009 - Jeremy Hall, first round (11th overall)
2009 - A.J. Delagarza, second round (19th overall)
2009 - Graham Zusi, second round (23rd overall)
2008 - Stephen King, third round (40th overall)
2007 - Maurice Edu, first round (first overall)
2007 - Chris Seitz, first round (fourth overall)
2006 - Jason Garey, first round, (third overall)
2006 - Marc Burch, second round (24th overall)
2006 - Michael Dello-Russo, fourth round (42nd overall)
2006 - Kenney Bertz, fourth round (47th overall)
2005 - Domenic Mediate, second round (23rd overall)
2005 - Abe Thompson, supplemental draft second round (16th overall)
2005 - Noah Palmer, supplemental draft third round (25th overall)
2004 - Clarence Goodson, first round (seventh overall)
2004 - Scott Buete, first round (ninth overall)
2004 - Seth Stammler, second round (18th overall)
2004 - Sumed Ibrahim, second round (20th overall)
2002 - Taylor Twellman, first round (second overall)
2001 - Nick Downing, second round (21st overall)
2000 - Dan Califf, first round (sixth overall)
1999 - Keith Beach, second round (17th overall)
1999 - Randy Merkel, third round (33rd overall)
1998 - Leo Cullen, first round (first overall)
1998 - R.T. Moore, third round (34th overall)