Williams Honored as ACC Legend

March 16, 2013

GREENSBORO, N.C. - Former Maryland coach Gary Williams was introduced as one of 13 members of the 2013 ACC Legends Class on Saturday afternoon in Greensboro.

Williams, who led the Terrapins to the 2002 National Championships and to 14 NCAA Tournament appearances in his 22 seasons at College Park, was one of two coaches in the class. He and the other legends were introduced at halftime of the semifinal game between Miami and NC State.

"The ACC does a tremendous job remembering those who have played a part in this outstanding league," said Williams. "I have seen and visited with a lot of players who have scored a lot of points against us over the years. This is just a wonderful weekend and I am very appreciative of this honor."

One of the most respected coaches in ACC history, Williams took over the Maryland program in 1989 and rebuilt the Terrapins into a national basketball powerhouse. In all, he won 461 games in 22 seasons at his alma mater, posting a 461-252 (.647) to become the winningest coach in Terrapin history.

Known for his fiery coaching style, Williams led Maryland to 14 NCAA appearances, including two Final Four appearances. He was named National Coach of the Year after leading Maryland to the 2002 NCAA National Championship, the first ever for the school. He was twice named ACC Coach of the Year (2002, 2010) and led the Terps to the 2004 ACC Tournament Championship.

A native of Collingswood, N.J., Williams played three seasons at Maryland (1964-67) as a point guard for Coach Bud Millikan and was named team captain in his senior season of 1967.

He graduated in 1968 with a degree in Marketing and spent three seasons as a high school coach before beginning his college coaching career as an assistant at Lafayette (1972-73) and Boston College (1973-78). He then served as a head coach at American University (1978-82), Boston College (1982-86) and Ohio State (1986-89) before taking over at Maryland.

He has an overall coaching record of 668-380 (.637) for 33 seasons and ranks 34th on the NCAA's all-time wins list. In all, he led his teams to 17 NCAA Tournament appearances and 8 trips to the NIT. He finished his career ranked 3rd among all ACC coaches in total wins and ACC victories trailing only Duke's Mike Krzyzewski and North Carolina's Dean Smith.

The rest of the class was: former ACC Commissioner Gene Corrigan; Boston College's Gerry Ward; Clemson's Terrell McIntyre; Duke's Trajan Langdon; Georgia Tech point guard Mark Price; Florida State's Tharon Mayes; Miami's Mike Wittman; North Carolina's Mike O'Koren; NC State's Dereck Whittenburg; Virginia's Travis Watson; Virginia Tech's Ace Custis; and Wake Forest coach Carl Tracy.