Jen Adams Nominated For Sportswoman Of The Year Award

Oct. 12, 1999

COLLEGE PARK, Md.-- - Junior Jen Adams (Brighton, Austrailia) has been named to the list of 10 finalists for the Women's Sports Foundation's Sportswoman of the Year Award in the team category. The award is given to two outstanding athletes whose performances during the past twelve months, Aug. 1, 1998 through Aug. 1, 1999 have been exceptional. Criteria include championships won, records set and awards won during only this time. Adams is a nominee in the team category.

Maryland's single-season recorder holder in for both goals (71) and points (117), Adams joins such notables as soccer's Mia Hamm and basketball's Chamique Holdsclaw, both of the United States, on the list of nominees. Members of the Women's Sports Foundation were sent ballots in early August with the list of nominees, and their accomplishments. The members then voted, and the results of the voting will be announced on Oct. 18, 1999 before the Women's Sports Foundation's 20th Annual Salute to Women in Sports Award Dinner that evening, where the awards will be formally presented to their recipients.

Adams was the leading scorer for the 1999 NCAA National Champion Maryland women's lacrosse team. The 1999 title was Maryland's fifth championship in a row. For her outstanding season, she received the International Women's Lacrosse Coaches Association's National Player of the Year Award, as well as the NCAA Division I Player of the Year award from College Lacrosse USA. An All-American, Adams was the NCAA leader in goals scored last season, and was the Most Valuable Player of the NCAA Division I Championships. In addition to those accolades already mentioned, Adams earned Eastern Collegiate Athletic Conference Player of the Year honors and was named the Atlantic Coast Conference Player of the Year in only her sophomore year at Maryland.


Team Category	                  
Jen Adams, Lacrosse (Austrailia)	          
Francoise Burdet, Bobsled (Switzerland)  	 
Mia Hamm, Soccer (United States)	        
Chamique Holdsclaw, Basketball (United States)	  
Patti Link, Curling (United States)	          
Joy McKenzie and Jackie Paraiso,                  
Racquetball Doubles Team (United States)	  
Marion Jones, Track and Field (United States)     
Misty May, Volleyball (United States)	          
A.J. Mleczko, Ice Hockey (United States)	     
Tamika (Mimi)Smith, Field Hockey (United States)  

Individual Category
Rhoni Barton, Water-skiing (United States)
Theresa Cliff, Inline Speedskating (United States)
Lindsay Davenport, Tennis (United States)
Allison Fisher, Billiards (United States)
Juli Inkster, Golf (United States)
Michellie Jones, Triathlon (Austrailia)
Michelle Martin, Squash (Austrailia)
Gunda Niemann-Stirnemann, Speedskating (Germany)
Marla Runyan, Track and Field-Visually Impaired 
    (United States)- Note: Runyan, who is legally 
     blind, competes against fully sighted athletes.
Hanne Staff, Orienteering (Norway)
Jenny Thompson, Swimming (United States)