Taylor Named Most Outstanding Wrestler At Team Banquet

Maryland Athletics
Print RSS

April 22, 2010

COLLEGE PARK, Md. - The University of Maryland wrestling team celebrated a second consecutive top-20 finish at the NCAA Championships and said goodbye to one of the most decorated senior classes in program history Saturday night at the team banquet.

The senior class consisting of Hudson Taylor, Steven Bell, Alex Krom, Mookie Golden, James Knox, Rich DiPietro, Casey Marwine and Andrew Bradley, along with volunteer assistant Brendan Byrne, were all presented individual awards for their contributions to the program.

"It was an incredible event and a great way to cap off the season," said head coach Kerry McCoy. "We had a great senior class and a lot of emotions were displayed. I'm really happy with the success of the banquet and all the support we received. It really shows that Maryland is a special place."

The Terps had a number of individual and team achievements to celebrate. Maryland achieved a No. 6 preseason ranking, the highest in school history. Krom became the first Terp to win the Midlands Championship and Maryland finished sixth as a team, its highest finish ever.

Maryland set a school record with 19 dual-meet wins, finished in the top-20 at the NCAA Championships for the second straight year and had multiple All-Americans for the second consecutive year.

M Club Executive Director Ziz Abdur-Ra'oof was on hand to recognize letter winners and present seniors with a special gift signifying their membership to the M Club.

Taylor was awarded the John C. McHugh Outstanding Wrestler of the Year for the third straight year after going 42-4 and finishing fourth at the NCAA Championships. Taylor became the first three-time All-American in school history and finished his career with as Maryland's winningest wrestler with a 165-26 record. He also owns the school record for career pins (87) and single-season pins (24), which he set in 2009-10.

Taylor also received the Kevin R. Kearns Award, given to the senior wrestler who has contributed the most to wrestling at the university. Taylor was recently named the ACC Scholar Athlete of the Year for the second time and also recently received an ACC postgraduate scholarship, to go with a number of other off-the-mat accomplishments.

Steven Bell and Taylor received awards for becoming All-Americans. Bell finished eighth at the NCAA Championships and compiled a 27-8 record on the season, while Taylor finished fourth. Bell also captured his third ACC Championship and became the program's fifth two-time All American.

Other award winners included:

Mookie Golden, who went 15-6 on the season and stepped in to win several crucial conference matches for the Terps, was awarded the Tom Norris Unsung Hero Award for the wrestler who always puts the team first over himself.

Josh Asper took home both the Freshman of the Year award and the Curt Callahan Mental Toughness Award, given to the wrestler who was always ready to do battle in the practice room, tournaments and dual meets. Asper had a sensations season, setting the school record for wins by a freshman with 34 and coming up just short of an All-American season by placing ninth at the NCAA Championships.

Kyle John went 29-13 and qualified for the NCAA Championships as a redshirt sophomore and received the Most Improved Award.

Jimmy Sheptock took home the Redshirt of the Year award after going 24-3 and winning the East Stroudsburg Open and the Wilkes Open.

2010 Maryland Banquet Awards:
John C. McHugh Outstanding Wrestler of the Year: Hudson Taylor
Kevin R. Kearns Award: Hudson Taylor
Tom Norris Unsung Here Award: Mookie Golden
Curt Callahan Mental Toughness Award: Josh Asper
Most Improved Award: Kyle John
Redshirt of the Year Award: Jimmy Sheptock
Freshman of the Year Award: Josh Asper