Taylor Awarded Post-Graduate Scholarship

Maryland Athletics
Print RSS

March 1, 2010

COLLEGE PARK, Md. - University of Maryland senior Hudson Taylor has been named one of 36 recipients of the Weaver-James-Corrigan Award, the Atlantic Coast Conference announced Monday.

The Weaver-James-Corrigan scholarship is awarded to selected student-athletes -- three from each league institution -- who intend to pursue a graduate degree following completion of their undergraduate requirements. Each recipient has performed with distinction in both the classroom and his/her respective sports, while demonstrating exemplary conduct in the community.

Taylor is Maryland's record holder with 159 wins and 85 pins during his career in College Park. The Pennington, N.J., native has a robust list of athletic and academic honors, including two selections to the ACC All-Academic Wrestling Team, including in 2008, when he was named the ACC Wrestling Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

Additionally, Taylor earned the ACC Top-Six for Service Award, and is the vice president of Maryland's Student-Athlete Advisory Committee, a member of the NCAA SAAC, and was on the NCAA Division I Challenging Athletes' Minds for Personal Success/Life Skills Restructuring Committee at Maryland. Following graduation, Taylor is considering attending law school.

The Weaver-James-Corrigan Award is named in honor of the late Jim Weaver and Bob James, as well as Gene Corrigan, all of whom are former ACC commissioners. The league's first commissioner, James H. Weaver, served the conference from 1954-70 after a stint as the Director of Athletes at Wake Forest University. His early leadership and uncompromising integrity are largely responsible for the excellent reputation enjoyed by the ACC today.

Robert C. James, a former University of Maryland football player, was named commissioner in 1971 and served in that capacity for 16 years. During his tenure, the league continued to grow in stature and became recognized as a national leader in athletes and academics, winning 23 national championships and maintaining standards of excellence in the classroom.

Eugene F. Corrigan assumed his role as the third full-time commissioner of September 1, 1987, and served until August of 1997. During Corrigan's tenure, ACC schools captured 30 NCAA championships and two national football titles.

Prior to 1994, the Weaver-James post-graduate scholarships were given as separate honors. The Jim Weaver Award, which originated in 1970, recognized exceptional achievement on the playing field and in the classroom, while the Bob James Award, established in 1987, also honored outstanding student-athletes.