McFadden Named Honda Sports Awards Finalist in Women's Lacrosse

May 27, 2009

Maryland standout Caitlyn McFadden has been named a finalist for the 2009 Honda Sports Award for women's lacrosse, as announced Tuesday.

McFadden, who is also a Tewaaraton Trophy finalist, was the cornerstone of this year's Maryland squad that went 21-0 before bowing out to North Carolina in the NCAA semifinals. The junior led the Terps, a youth-laden squad that did not start a senior, with 86 points on 54 goals and 32 assists. The 2009 ACC Player of the Year tallied at least one goal in every game during Maryland's 21-game winning streak and recorded at least a point in every match in 2009. Also tabbed the ACC Tournament Most Valuable Player, McFadden ranked in the top three for Maryland in draw controls (37), ground balls (30), caused turnovers (22), goals (54) and assists (32).

The junior is one of four Divison I finalists, including Hannah Nielsen (Northwestern), Amber Falcone (North Carolina) and Jill Byers (Notre Dame). The winner after nationwide balloting will become a candidate for The Honda-Broderick Cup awarded annually to the Collegiate Woman Athlete of the Year.

Now in its 33rd year, the Collegiate Women Sports Awards program recognizes annually the top woman collegiate athlete in each of 12 NCAA-sanctioned sports, each of whom receives the Honda Sports Award. In addition, the program honors the top women collegiate athletes representing Division II and Division III schools each year, as well as the recipient of the Honda Inspiration Award. Throughout the years, the program has also often chosen to honor individuals and groups with its special Irv Grossman Award of Merit.