Jen Adams Named ACC Female Athlete Of The Year

July 22, 2000

GREENSBORO, N.C. - Maryland women's lacrosse standout Jen Adams (Marino, South Australia) and Georgia Tech football player Joe Hamilton have been named as the Atlantic Coast Conference male and female athletes for the 1999-2000 academic year, as voted on by the Atlantic Coast Sports Writers Association. Adams now becomes the third Maryland women's lacrosse player to win the Mary Garber Award in its 11-year history.

The Anthony J. McKevlin Award, named for a former sports editor of The (Raleigh) News & Observer, is given to the ACC's top male student-athlete, while the Mary Garber Award, named for a retired Winston-Salem Journal sportswriter, is given to the top female student-athlete.

Adams finished with 30 votes for the Garber Award while North Carolina soccer player Lorrie Fair received 15 votes. Duke golfer Beth Bauer was third with 12 votes followed by NC State basketball player Summer Erb (9), Florida State track performer Tonya Carter (6), Clemson volleyball player Cindy Stern (3), Virginia soccer player Angela Hucles and Georgia Tech runner Sara Pardue with two votes apiece.

The IWLCA Attacker of the Year and winner of the first-ever Honda Award for women's lacrosse, Adams led Maryland to its sixth straight NCAA championship, its second consecutive ACC title, a 21-1 overall record, a final ranking of No. 1 and 20 consecutive victories to close the season. Adams was the 2000 ACC Player of the Year and an All-America by College Lacrosse USA. A junior, she was also named the NCAA tournament MVP after setting the NCAA tournament record for points in a game with 10. Adams finished the 2000 season with 81 goals and 55 assists for an NCAA Division I record 136 points. In her first three seasons, Adams has totaled 179 goals, 118 assists, and 297 points placing her 10th all-time in Division I women's lacrosse history.

"This is a tremendous honor and well-deserved. Obviously, we think the world of Jen Adams, and it's easy to see why: she epitomizes what a student-athlete should be on and off the field of play," said Maryland lacrosse head coach Cindy Timchal. In addition to her athletic accomplishments, Adams was named the spring at-large GTE Academic All-American of the Year. The Terrapin women's lacrosse team owns the longest active title streak of any Division I women's team at sixth straight titles.

Joe Hamilton, the 1999 Atlantic Coast Conference Player of the Year and Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award recipient led Georgia Tech to an 8-4 finish and a trip to the 2000 Gator Bowl. He was a runner-up for the 1999 Heisman Trophy and was a consensus All-America, earning first-team honors from AP, FWAA, AFCA, Football News and Walter Camp. He was a finalist for the Maxwell Award and Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award and became the ACC's all-time leader in total offense (10,460 yards), touchdown responsibility (83), touchdown passes (65), and passing efficiency (148.2). The Alvin, S.C. native ranks among the top 10 in NCAA history in career total offense and is the first player in NCAA Division I-A to top 10,000 total yards and 1,500 yards rushing.

"I can't imagine any athlete in any sport meaning more to his team than Joe Hamilton meant to our football program the last four years," said Georgia Tech head football coach George O'Leary. "He has been a great representative for Georgia Tech, the ACC and college athletics, and he is very deserving of this award."

Mary Garber Award Recipients
1990Shannon Higgins, UNC Soccer
1991Dawn Staley, UVa Basketball
1992Dawn Staley, UVa Basketball
1993Mia Hamm, UNC Soccer
1994Mia Hamm, UNC Soccer
1995Tisha Venturini, UNC Soccer
1996Kelly Amonte, Md Soccer/Lacrosse
1997Sarah Forbes, Md Lacrosse
1998Vanessa Webb, Duke Tennis
1999Cindy Parlow, UNC Soccer
2000Jen Adams, Maryland Lacrosse

Anthony J. McKevlin Award Recipients
1954Joel Shankle, Duke Track & Field
1955Dickie Hemric, WFU Basketball
1956Dave Sime, Duke Track & Field/Basketball
1957Lennie Rosenbluth, UNC Basketball
1958Dick Christy, NCS Football
1959Lou Pucillo, NCS Basketball
1960Mike McGee, Duke Football
1961Roman Gabriel, NCS Football
1962Len Chappell, WFU Basketball
1963Art Heyman, Duke Basketball
1964Jeff Mullins, Duke Basketball
1965Brian Piccolo, WFU Football
1966Danny Talbott,UNC Football/Basketball
1967Bobby Bryant, USC Football/Basketball
1968Larry Miller, UNC Basketball
1969Frank Quayle, UVa Football
1970Charlie Scott, UNC Basketball
1971Don McCauley, UNC Football
1972Barry Parkhill, UVa Basketball
1973David Thompson, NCS Basketball
1974Tony Waldrop, UNC Track & Field
1975David Thompson, NCS Basketball
1976John Lucas, Md Basketball/Tennis
1977Phil Ford, UNC Basketball
1978Phil Ford, UNC Basketball
1979Renaldo Nehemiah, Md Track & Field
1980Julie Shea, NCS Track & Field
1981Julie Shea, NCS Track & Field
1982James Worthy, UNC Basketball
1983Ralph Sampson, UVa Basketball
1984Michael Jordan, UNC Basketball
1985B.J. Surhoff, UNC Baseball
1986Len Bias, Md Basketball
1987Riccardo Ingram, GaT Football/Basketball
1988Danny Ferry, Duke Basketball
1989Danny Ferry, Duke Basketball
1990Clarkston Hines, Duke Football
1991Christian Laettner, Duke Basketball
1992Christian Laettner, Duke Basketball
1993Charlie Ward, FSU Football/Basketball
1994Charlie Ward, FSU Football/Basketball
1995Randolph Childress, WFU Basketball
1996Kris Benson, Clem Baseball
1997Tim Duncan, WFU Basketball
1998Antawn Jamison, UNC Basketball
1999Elton Brand, Duke Basketball
2000Joe Hamilton, Georgia Tech Football