#4 Terps Fall to #5 WVU in NCAA Third Round Sunday

Maryland Athletics
Print RSS

COLUMBUS, Ohio (AP) – Melo Trimble recorded a team-high 15 points and seven rebounds but No. 4 seed Maryland fell to No. 5 seed West Virginia, 69-59, in the third round of the NCAA Tournament at Nationwide Arena Sunday night.

Trimble, who is tied for fifth in Maryland (28-7) annals with 32 double-figure scoring performances this season, missed the final 8:25 of the game due to an injury. Jake Layman added 10 points and three assists. A total of 10 different Terrapins scored.

The teams were locked in a close battle until West Virginia (25-9) used its gritty pressure defense and physical play to pull away from the Terrapins.

Devin Williams scored off an offensive rebound to make it 49-46. The next time down the floor, after a Maryland miss, Tarik Phillip, who hit the clinching 3 late in the shot clock with 29 seconds left against Buffalo on Friday, had his shot blocked. But he got it back and powered it in with 10:08 left.

Moments later, Staten threw a 60-foot pass to Miles behind the defense for a layup. On the play, Trimble ended up getting kicked in the head by a teammate and had to be helped to the bench. He sat there for the rest of the game with his head down.

With Trimble -- first-team All-Big Ten and the team's leading scorer at 16.3 points a game -- watching from the end of the bench, the Terrapins were in deep trouble.

After Maryland cut the deficit to five, Jevon Carter responded with a three-pointer for WVU with 4:18 left.

The Mountaineers were content the rest of the way to put the ball in the hands of guards Gary Browne and Staten, killing time around the perimeter.

It was the Maryland-finale for seniors Evan Smotrycz, Spencer Barks, Richaud Pack, Jacob Susskind, Jon Graham, Trevor Anzmann, and Dez Wells. Wells finished his Terrapin career ranked 19th all-time in scoring with 1,398 points.

The Terps won a school-record 26 games during the regular season and punched their ticket to the NCAA Tournament for the first time since 2010.